First real show

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First real show

I've been selling by word of mouth alone for a couple of years now and have never done a craft or carving show, that is till now. The Moose lodge in Zanesville Ohio put on a free table, no cost to the crafter, craft show. They only asked for a $10 item to raffle off for Moose heart.

Well 36 crafters showed up making for a full lodge i'll tell you. The people came in and after looking at my prices laughed and walked away. Now i know that i can't really explain everything about my carvings details to explain my prices to ya'll but the basics are this; a 1x1x6" santa ornament is $25, a 1.5x1.5x12" free standing santa is $45, a 6" or 12" carved pine tree is $30 and the kicker was my snowman and santa pins at $4. I understand that the economy is in the crapper and folks aren't buying like they used to but i was always told to price high enough to show the quality of the work, and i've been told that i could get more out of them if i wanted.
    I don't want to give them away but i think i may have set my bar too high for this type of a show..But..i've always got my price on word of mouth sales and told by my customers that my prices were cheap for the quality of work i do and that i should ask for more. I, like all of us, am not in this to get rich but maybe i need to stick with W.O.M. sales instead and stay away craft shows.

Have any of you had this kind of trouble? Any thought or advice is welcome.

By the way i did make one sale and it was a display only item my neighbor wanted so i gave it to her at a discount in exchange for a discount on her homemade Pepper Butter..yummy! LOL!

Re: First real show