my other hobby.....not carving

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my other hobby.....not carving

I have had a really bad case of Spring Fever lately.... makes it hard to go into the studio and work. Instead, I'm out working with my bonsai. I've been growing bonsai for over 40 years. Like carving, once you're bitten, you never really get over it.

I did sell off half of my collection over the last 3 years. You can't leave one on the work table for a couple weeks and go back to it later. They have regular maintenance schedules that you have to keep up with or lose them. I used to have so many that I really didn't have time to do anything but work on them. I kept a few of my favorites and right now, some of the flowering trees are in bloom.

This is a cascade style Barbados Cherry. After the blooms, they get tiny little blood red berries all over them, and if the bonsai gods are smiling, the berries are still there when the next round of blooms appear. These guys bloom all Summer long.....

They are not house plants but when one is blooming, I'll bring it inside for a day or two, to enjoy it.

Re: my other hobby.....not carving

Beautiful Bonsai,I used to grow Bonsai but when I moved to California,I had to
    decide between working on Bansais or carving because of lack of space.Thanks for
    sharing. By the way Susieq,I thought you were going to tell us that your second hobby
    was buying micromotors. LOL
    Oscar

Comment

ROTF! Oscar, you made me "snort laugh" when I read that..... there is some truth to what you say..... ;o