I have a question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I have a question

There is something about this board I just can't figure out.
    Why does nearly everyone except a few use those odd monickers instead of their real name?
    Maybe it's just because I'm in the snapdragon phase of my life.
    Doug

Re: I have a question

I did it without thinking and now I regret it. I actually was thinking of contacting Bob and getting my name changed but keep my profile.... Just my two cents.

Comment

Well Doug ,
      Lets see if this makes a bit of sense. Since I am not a professional carver having my real name on a world wide fourm is not something I was willing to consider in a time where electronics can do everything from empting bank accounts to purchasing goods without proof of the real person.
      Internet scams are very real and very active , your computer can be scanned in a mater of seconds, and often many people when using their real names in open fourms are traced and even stalked by predators. As an artist that looking to find additional outlets for your goods using your real name can be necessary , but for many a simple aka allows more freedom.
      And many artist passed and present use names other than their own, and become very well know by those other names .

Ash

Comment

ASh said it best.
        But then, My moniker is my first name and the first inital of my last name. So, I guess my point in not wanting everyone to know my name is moot, eh?

Comment

Maybe it's a throwback to the old CB Radio days when everyone had a "handle"!

Al

Comment

Ash covered a very good point and that was the reason at first but now it's mostly habit.

The name Phaeton or Phaethon is from Greek mythology and dates back over 2000 years to Ovid's Metamorphoses; Phaeton was the mortal son of the Greek Sun God.