Hello from Alaska!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello from Alaska!

Hey everyone! I'm new here and just wanted to say hello. I'm surprised I haven't found this forum sooner, but I really look forward to sharing and learning from all of you. I grew up in June Lake California and moved to Girdwood Alaska in 2011. I'm a full time ski patroller at Alyeska Resort, and I'm a part time artist when I'm not working on the mountain. I have an etsy shop, and I've been selling on there since 2014.
    Both of my parents are artists, and my dad, Gary "Wiz" Burns, is my biggest inspiration for my woodcarvings. He has a gallery in Port Orford Oregon called The Tree Wizard Gallery. My mom is a potter and has a nice little shop in June Lake California called The Moon Shadow Gallery.
    I started carving wood sometime in 2010 and my passion has only grown from there. I started with power tools, but have been using primarily hand tools in the past couple years. I have an appreciation for all types of techniques and love to learn new ways of doing things.
    I look forward to meeting all of you!
    Last edited by AK Wood Wiz; 04-18-2020, 02:57 PM.

Welcome, photos are always appreciated.
    53F3E87D-FE5A-4E27-8C36-8F0F2B7FA523.jpeg
    Ed
    Living in a pile of chips.
    https://m.facebook.com/pg/CentralNeb...ernal&mt_nav=0

Comment

Welcome aboard, All my CW Bark comes from a friend, Bruce Pace in anchorage
      . . .JoeB

Comment

Welcome. The "Upload Attachments" button should work to pull images out of your computer files.

I looked up Girdwood, AK..Big place with wonderful scenery.
        What sort of wood carvings do you like to do?
        Brian T

Comment

Hello and welcome to the forum. Look forward to seeing your work.

Comment

Thanks. Very well done. I presume local CW bark sources?

If you dig around in the WCI Forum archives, you will see(?) that a lot of old threads have text but the images are missing.