Texturing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Texturing

I am not real sure where to post this, so General it is!
    Do any of you folks who do birds burn, stone or both on your birds?
    I have done a few ducks and I always burned everything. Our club is doing a chickadee project and we are burning the tail and wings, but stoning everything else. I have never used the stoning technique before. It seems as though I remember hearing of a process where you stone a surface and then go back and burn over it. Has anybody done this? What were the results? o you stone the entire area and then burn the entire area or just burn portions?
    I will probably cut out a chunk of scrap and try different processes, but I was just wondering what others did.
    THANKS! in advance.

Jim

Jim,....perhaps animals and birds header would give you a better answers .....I stone which creates a high gloss area, although you have make sure it does not burn the area. I use all and any method to get the results I want...and times that means creating new methods or trying all kinds of things. I am not a bird carver so I am sure they could answer you better.

Comment

Hi Jim... yes and yes, to both. When you are doing birds there is only two things too remember. Soft feathers are stoned, flight feathers (or stiff feathers) are burnt. In others words the belly, under tail covert, back, head, neck and chest are usually stoned. The flight feathers of the wing are burnt. I hope this helps and is clear, please let us know if it is not.
      ~ Dwight
      "Hello, I am the Friggin' Happiness Fairy and I just sprinkled happy dust on you, so smile damit' this crap is expensive."

Comment

image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg image.jpeg
        Originally posted by Dwight View Post