Northern Saw Whet Owl

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Northern Saw Whet Owl

This is an owl I did as a go by for my carving students. I live in a retirement community and give carving classes 3 afternoons each week to anyone that wants to attend. We have 3-5 students that usually show up and the students select the project. I do a go by carving and stay 1-2 days ahead of them.
    I am not a professional but I have carved for 15 years. I am somewhat handicapped since I can only lift/move one arm. I lost use of it 5 years ago in an accident. It was my right arm and I was right handed. I have learned to now carve left handed. I can set my right arm in place and hold an object with my hand, but cannot move my arm once I set it in a position.
    I have learned to be patient and to think about each movement in advance. It has slowed me down but I am probably a better carver now because I give each movement more thought..
    Your critiques are appreciated.

I tried numerous times to get all three pictures right side up, to no avail.
    Attached Files

Re: Northern Saw Whet Owl

Well done, Don!

Claude
    My FaceBook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ClaudesWoodCarving/

My Pinterest Page: https://www.pinterest.com/cfreaner/

My ETSY Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ClaudesWoodcarving

Comment

Don, what a great carving . The painting is spot on also. and what really tops it off, to me, is the mounting. Would give you an A+
      . . . JoeB
      . . .JoeB

Comment

Don you did a great job on this owl which y the way is a fun owl
        to carve, thanks for sharing your project with us.
        Oscar

Comment

Great carving, and a nice thing you do teaching others.

Comment

Originally posted by Don Bundy View Post

I have learned to be patient and to think about each movement in advance. It has slowed me down but I am probably a better carver now because I give each movement more thought..