Art In the Park (Advise?)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Art In the Park (Advise?)

So primarily in an effort to promote Central Nebraska Wood Carvers the guys and gals at the club house suggested I participate in the local “Art in the Park” event. It is a two, half day event in early July. It will also provide me with the opportunity (I hope) of sell off a few carvings that need new homes.

I had to submit a photo of my booth for their consideration along with photos of three of my sculptures.

Now here is the fun part. I have never done this before an frankly would welcome any advise on any aspect of this type of event.

Thanks in advance for your words of wisdom.
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

Be sure to tie down the legs of your cover, either with stakes or weights, wind can pick those up really easy (ask me how I know!) How are you feeling about people handling your carvings? If you don't want them to than a sign is needed. Maybe have some smaller carvings people can pick up? I don't know how much blowing dust you'll have, but maybe a duster to keep things cleaned off. And a tarp to cover things up if it rains. Of course a cooler with something to drink and eat, depending on how long this lasts. And a person to stay with the table when you need a break. If you had another table that you could put the bigger items on more to the back they could still be seen but would be more protected. You'll be surprised how fast some thing can disappear. If you don't want people walking through the legs of your tent (having access from all sides) then string something bright back and forth. You are putting some pretty expensive items out there, I think I would feel safer with pictures of some of those instead. Maybe get other members to donate some items to show too. You can place the pictures in a ring binder or hang them on a display rack. I have two folding display racks I use for things like that.