Oddly this is the place I should have found

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oddly this is the place I should have found

Found wood, firstly and foremost I have always just picked any thing that I could cut, that being said, after all the books and instructions I read say Bass wood, so now am trying to say to my self. Ok this is OK , but I am have a heck of a time adjusting to ..No grain? and not hard enough, and doesn't sand/power cut like my other woods do. For me I just as soon find a nice piece of fell "any wood" and start cutting/whittling. Has any one else gone through this? And also I have been making chips and dust for a few years now, not too great but"ok".
    Last edited by NoDNA; 04-04-2019, 07:11 PM. Reason: Spell correct.

I find butternut is an excellent wood to carve...although can be a bit stringy. I have heard sugar pine is good but haven't tried it. Found green wood is easy, found driftwood can be easy or hard...just depends on the wood. I stick to basswood and butternut...for now. JMO
    Bill
    Living among knives and fire.

http://www.westernwoodartist.com

Comment

You're "learning the woods." Some you like, some you don't. Don't follow books if you don't want to.
      All conifer "softwoods" tend to split very easily, some are better and worse than others.

I like western red cedar with a ring count of 15-40/inch. Also Yellow cedar.
      I've carved a lot of birch, it's quite a bit harder, even grained and a pale cream color.
      Brian T

Comment

Originally posted by woodburner807 View Post
        I find butternut is an excellent wood to carve...although can be a bit stringy. I have heard sugar pine is good but haven't tried it. Found green wood is easy, found driftwood can be easy or hard...just depends on the wood. I stick to basswood and butternut...for now. JMO