Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Drift Wood carving?

OK. so im new to this site.

I was wondering if drift wood was a good wood to carve with.
    i would like to know if its good for carving spoons and other small things and also if i would need to dry it out first (whatever that means)

im really new to carving wood but ive done it before.

Re: Drift Wood carving?

I got some great Lake Superior drift wood, but, just tons of sand in the wood. I might try power carving it one day, but, not going to put my regular tools up against that sand! Can't brush or wash it out. Maybe a power wash? Hope yours doesn't have the sand problem.

Jim B

Comment

i dont have the drift wood now....or the tools yet but i can go down the beach and get some drift wood.
      thats why i was wondering if drift wood is good to carve with, since i can just go get some.

Comment

Driftwood isn't a single type of wood (like basswood) some of it carves really well, some of it is terrible. Gather some pieces you like and play with them. Once you find out what works - cedar driftwood is my favorite, and pine can be neat too, then head back to the shores and collect what works for you. Some pieces will be dry enough to start working on right away, while others will have to season. Again you can figure out what fits where when you start working with it. Some pieces will appear dry to your eye/touch but will be soaked in the unexposed parts. What type of wood you have collected, how thick the piece is, how decayed/fresh the wood is, how heavy the piece is, will all determine if the piece you found needs to air/season. As there is no formula that I know of that will help you, only you can only figure out what you should be collecting, and how much drying it will need. Play with the wood.

Have seen some stunning carvings done from driftwood, but I know that the carver went through much collecting, and trying what worked for him/her, to get that finished piece.