Green Basswood

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Green Basswood

I have recently come into a great cache of green basswood. I have a lot of experience using green wood and drying turnings from green wood successfully.

When carving green basswood, do you keep it in the chips from the carving in a box or bag to prevent it drying out and cracking between carving sessions too?

I use this process although I know others use other kinds of methods so far this works for me. It is noted I live in high humidity tropical area....so you may want to do more? So..... During the carving process, some water will always evaporate. Using a spray bottle periodically to dampen the piece will inhibit rapid moisture loss. At the end of each carving session, the work-in-progress should be sprayed lightly and covered with a plastic bag. The water in the wood will always seek a balance of even distribution. Enclosing the carving in a bag gives moisture deep inside the wood time to migrate toward the drier outside. If progress is going to be delayed for a lengthy period, you can also coat the piece with a light oil, even mineral oil will do. Long delays are not a problem; however, wood enclosed too long may grow mold. This has happen to me......so ... It is a good idea to remove the plastic bag every day for a short period, then replace it over the piece.

Comment

great advice. I tried it with birch but it got spalted (typical for birch?). The mistake was to let it in a closed bag for to long I think without opening it every day like you suggest.Now I keep some willow in a bucket with water to keep it green and I experiment with willow in the freezer (my wife let me use 1/20 of the freezer, NOT MORE!).
      Jos
      Belgium

Comment