Palo Verde and Mesquite

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Palo Verde and Mesquite

I am new to the Tucson AZ area and find that I can get easy access to both Palo Verde and Mesquite. Has anyone used these for carving? I've got a couple of samples to try and will let all know the outcome.

Re: Palo Verde and Mesquite

What size does this come in Bob. Please do let us know how well it works out. Lar

Comment

Greetings to someone in my neck of the country. I am in Alexandria, Mn area. I do not know anything about Palo Verde but have carved Mesquite, it is very hard and mostly has to be power carved or worked with a rasp. If you are interested in seeing some of the results. A good source is the wood sculpture and poetry of j christopher white he does marvelous work with mesquite. Have fun. Gene

Comment

Mesquite.... hawaii is outrageous hard, it had to be carved with power.... broke a few of my best chisels on it...and a knife before changing to power. And even with power because it was so hard , it was a long hard process. Upside it is long lasting, beautiful wood. I had to laugh because it was easier to carve stone. Some hard woods have to be carved wet....I do not know if that would be easier then dry?

Comment

O got a pieces of Palo Verde yesterday but it is greener than green. I'm going to try to carve a piece green and see what happens. The rest I'll let air dry. Till then

Bob

Comment

Welcome to Tucson Bob. I will send you a PM as I am also in Tucson.

I have not tried either but some in local club have. I was out to fast food for lunch yesterday and a small branch was down on the ground from a mesquite. If I wouldn't have looked ridiculous and if the branch were larger I may have put in my car

Comment