First spoon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First spoon

This is my first attempt at a spoon; 12 inch serving/cooking spoon in mahogany, mineral oil finish.

Great for a first effort.
    Now, clone that but 3-4 tines as a fork = salad serving set.
    Brian T

Comment

You can be proud.
      Bill K.
      Every day should be unwrapped like a precious gift.

Comment

A skill I don't have but a very nice carving. I think Brian had a great suggestion and about a salad set. You did it excellently, so keep it up.
        Bill
        Living among knives and fire.

http://www.westernwoodartist.com

Comment

Thanks all. I did learn this is probably something better done on green wood rather than seasoned hardwood!

Comment

If you can get your hands on green wood, some of it cuts like cheese. Remarkable.
            I wonder about drying and cracking but maybe I'm letting my paranoids hang out.
            A lot of the world carves in seasoned hardwoods. Olive, ebony and mahogany, of course.
            Any flaws in your sharpening process and you get to learn them now, yes?

What I'd like to carve is a pair of clawed paddles, "bear paws" they are called.
            Used to shred "pulled" pork off a real smoker BBQ.

Birch is a fairly featureless hardwood from my district.
            Hold good detail and carves well with very fine cuts.
            Brian T

Comment

Brian T If green wood is split into halves before it dries it usually won't check according to the bushcraft carvers.
              There is no problem with tool sharpness, I have a neuropathy that makes it difficult for me to grip the tools for long or to do a lot of detail carving. Carving this seasoned mahogany was very tough on my hands and wrists, I'll be taking a few days break after this spoon to let them recover.

Comment

Just about all of my wood, western red cedar, is split green.
                The texture for carving doesn't change much as it dries.