Another Chainsaw bear

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Another Chainsaw bear

It's been almost a year since I posted my last chainsawed bear (and the last one that I did) but I finally got back to it! I haven't changed the "generic" standing pose too much since I'm still learning but I did try to add a little more detail to the face on this one AND I believe that this is the first one that I dared to saw an open-air space between the two rear legs. Sooooooo... I suppose that I've taken a few new baby steps in my attempts at chainsaw carving.

On top of all that, I still haven't gotten me one of those revered dime-tip pro carving bars so I'm having to do a lot of the finished detail work with my regular carving blades and especially when it comes to the head with the eyes, ears, nose, and mouth. All in all it took just a little over an hour to rough it out with the chain saw so I don't have to "think 'n ponder" so much anymore! The log is pine which I've had curing in the open air for about a year now and that wood really cut nicely with a new chainsaw blade.

As I mentioned in last years posting this bear was also carved as part of our camps annual fund raiser each fall. This particular bear won't make it to this year's closed bid auction since the fellow who won my previous bear for $200.00 put it on his porch which made all the neighbors jealous. Well, one such "neighbor" found out who I was and drove up one day saying that he'd donate $250.00 to our program if I'd carve him a bear with a style and size of my own choosing. I really appreciated the creative freedom that he allowed me to take so I did the very best job possible for him.