Pumpkins

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pumpkins

I finished up the last two pumpkins in my little pumpkin party. These are a carved out of a 2 x 2 block of basswood, the little one out of a 1x1 scrap. This is my first attempt at painting and antiquing. I’m not too sure about the results. The antiquing looks rather splotchy. Maybe I should’ve put two coats of paint on before antiquing. Well, I’m going to call them done and move on to something different.
    Thanks for taking a look, comments always welcome.
    Mike
    13071C6A-8F4C-44FB-80E3-17FBE1ABE8F9.jpeg

Hey Mike, Your "beginner" style has me beat for a lot of Items..Those are great looking pumpkins.
    Chuck
    Chuck
    Always hoping for a nice slice that won't need sanding!

https://mewe.com/profile/5d6f213642db757a5dfb3223

Comment

Nicely done, Mike. Great textures...I'd be proud of it for sure.

How did you antique it...I don't see a problem.
      Bill
      Living among knives and fire.

http://www.westernwoodartist.com

Comment

Thank you Chuck, I appreciate the comment.

Comment

Agreed. Nice looking pumpkins.

Comment

Bill, thank you. I’m going to add a couple of photos. I turned one of the pumpkins around so you can see what I mean by splotchy. I also took a photo of the stuff I picked up to antique them. I’m thinking maybe the basswood needs to be sealed or primed somehow before painting. Or perhaps two coats of paint before antiquing, or I let the antiquing sit for too long before wiping it off. I did also lightly sand with 120 after they dried. Well, first try…

A30F44CB-C761-4A98-B6DB-0F0D13FED1C6.jpeg
            968F7EFA-8A93-42BB-AF4F-718DF826AA2C.jpeg
            Attached Files

Comment

Hi Mike , did you seal over the Painting before Antiquing ? If not I think that's why you got Blotches . Still a good Job . Merle

Comment