Sad Indian

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sad Indian

This is my first attempt at starting a thread. I decided to carve a “Sad Indian” for two reasons. First I watched Phil Fontaine the National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations on TV talk on the plight of some of the First Nation People in Canada. Some in northern Canada have had to boil their water for years because it’s unsafe and live 20 or more people per house because of lack of housing.
    The second reason is to do with global warming. There is an old Indian proverb that I found “Treat the earth well. It was not given to you by your parents, it was loaned to you by your children. We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children.”
    I sculpted the bust in Plastilina. I decided to use the “pointing method” ( I don’t know what it’s really called)I only have done this once before. It is a quick and accurate way to duplicate your sculpture into a woodcarving.

Re: Sad Indian

It's looking really nice. Can't wait to see the finished product. I'm interested in your "pointing method". Could you please explain the process a little? By the way, I love that Indian proverb too.
    Brandant Robinson
    Woodcarving Blog - www.theoldstump.blogspot.com
    Custom Folding Knives - https://www.therobinsonedge.com/
    Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/brandant.robinson.1

Comment

By both your clay sculpture and the beginnings of your wood carving I certainly can see and feel the emotion you feel. I too, am interested in your measuring method--looks very accurate. I have done some clay sculpting and my method is add and remove LOL. What kind of wood are you using
      Kathy

Comment

A.Willburger, So far your carving is looking well in its proper perspective. Looking forward to when its finished. You are doing a very fine job so far. Forrest

Comment