anyone wear an apron while power carving

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• anyone wear an apron while power carving

I was wondering if anyone wears an apron while carving? is so what type.
    Im new to power carving and I broke my flex shaft cause I caught the fabric arpon

I wear a Leather Apron, for both Power and Knife Carving, and many times,
    I have been so glad that I did wear a leather apron and thumb guards!.
    Oscar

Comment

Go to Harbor Freight and pick up a leather welders apron and if you wear gloves on your holding hand, get a pair of leather gloves. The burrs will chew the leather, not grab and wreck the shaft like cotton does.

Comment

I'm not power carving. Pacific Northwest native style crooked carving knives are used commonly with a pull stroke.
        I have bopped myself in the chest a few times, wrecked some good shirts and cut myself a couple of times.

I had a big piece of aircraft canvas from a flight bag. Had an apron made with pockets on the back side so they don't fill up with chips.
        I'm not proud of this but you can see plenty of scrapes where I have hit my apron (which saved both me and my shirt.)
        The canvas is so heavy that if I fold it right, the apron will stand up by itself.

I agree with the suggestions for a leather welder's apron. Kitchen-weight cotton aprons are too thin and flexible.

Comment

I wear a leather apron, too.

Comment