Dremel on black walnut?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Dremel on black walnut?

I'm new to carving....will a Dremel carve black walnut ok? If so what are basic bits, tips, or ?? That you will be using...assume I need some things that will cut off the big excess wood fast then finer tips etc to do shaping and finishing...any tips or direction on where I should go for this info? Thank you

The Janka Hardness value for Black Walnut in 1010 lbf, compared to Basswood at 410 lbf, but still less than some exotics. I have carved Black Walnut with hand tools (gouges & knives), so it should respond well to Dremel burrs. Depending on your project you may want to do some rough shaping with other power tools (i.e. band saw).

Black Walnut ball-in-a-cage:- 1-1/2" long
    ballncage.jpg
    Last edited by pallin; 05-01-2018, 06:34 PM. Reason: added dimension

Comment