Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie questions

Hi,
    Just got Foredom 5200 and 1070. Using the 5200 for 1/4 and 1/8. The 1070 for 3/32.

Tried hand craving I'm not good at sharpening nor keeping my hand from the blades.

Going to keep those for the moment but I think after just an hour I'm not going back to hand.

The 1/8 has a steel carbide bud and it leaves burns on the wood, what am I doing wrong?

other then that I will be full on it tomorrow and have more questions.

you're probably pushing too hard, maybe slow down the rpm, let the burs do the work. sometimes I find it is better to just be brushing off the area that you want to remove the wood.
    . . .JoeB

Comment

Ok I will try that Thank you

Comment

What kind of wood are you using? I find some wood burn easy. If the wood burns you have to slow down the speed ;until it does not burn. If it is still burning you may have to use a different kind of burr.. Such as Kutzall or Sabruu tooth....and then sand down the area.

Comment

Originally posted by Dileon View Post
          What kind of wood are you using? I find some wood burn easy. If the wood burns you have to slow down the speed ;until it does not burn. If it is still burning you may have to use a different kind of burr.. Such as Kutzall or Sabruu tooth....and then sand down the area.
          It's basswood, I was pushing the tool instead of letting it do the work I think. Right now I'm learning using only a carbide 1/8" shank ball bit.

I'm running into another problem, I have the foredom clamp dual mount and using all the parts. When using it I'm having a hard bend at the end on the tool when holding it like a pencil - it's getting warm after about 1/2hr -1hr. I don't know what else i could do to ease the bend. I wish I had a longer shaft then it would be ok.

BTW I don't think I'm going back to hand tools. Hate the fuzzies tho trying to come up with cheap ways to remove them.

Comment