the kids are all gone.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• the kids are all gone.....

so i now have my own room upstairs in our old farmhouse. in the past i've done some fret work on my scroll saw. i'm setting up to try my hand at intarsia, but i'de also like to try some power carving. i'm having a hard time figuring out what rotary tool to get. saw a guy on youtube uses an oz plus, it's a bit pricey considering i've never done carving before. same with a foredom, harbor freight has similar type motor for way cheaper. but sometimes you get what you pay for. i was leaning toward a dremel 4300 until i saw this on craigslist and wondered what you experienced people thought of it https://chicago.craigslist.org/nch/t...069003129.html . i also have a question on the differences in rpm's with these machines, i mean a dremel at up to 35000 rpm and this thing at 350,000 rpm. well, thanks for your time, sorry about being so long winded. fred

If you're going to buy some power carving equipment, the first plunge might seem a little costly, but it will be worth it in the long run. I have Mastercarver power tools Plus an airpower unit, The one that is listed on Craigslist peak my interest, but you'll need an air compressor That can kick out at least 1.5 cfm @35psi. Just my 2¢ worth
    . . .JoeB

Comment

I use a foredom for power carving, expensive, but worth the money.

I have the one with the micro motor hand piece because I don’t like use it a flex shaft.

If you buy saburr tooth bits, they are very good, and in my experience, I’ve never had to replace one, and I use them a lot!!!

Comment