Scalpel + Burning Pen?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scalpel + Burning Pen?

Hey guys, I've just found this site so I thought I would sign up and learn more from experienced people.
    I have been doing pyrography for three years now, however I have run into a small issue, I burn runes into my work and sometimes it's very hard to do small characters. My burning pen came with a scalpel attachment, I just wanted to ask if that is ok to put on the pen when hot so I can get smaller letters/art done. I don't want to do anything without asking before hand just in case an accident happens, had one before with one of these pens and it's not pretty! Picture of my setup below.

Thanks.

I'm guessing that since it came with it, it is intended for use with the pen. But of course you would change tips when they are not hot! It may be intended for use as a hot knife, for cutting plastic and such, but similar tips are used with better woodburning pens, although they are typically not scalpel sharp. The better pens allow you to control the temperature with a knob and have a variety of smaller writing tips and balls. So I would try it with yours and you may find it does everything you want. But if your pen doesn't have a temperature control, the tip may get so hot that it is easily bent. I use a Colwood Detailer with replaceable tip pens and find it much better for fine work than the type you have. And it is much cooler in the hand and allows better control.
    'If it wasn't for caffeine, I wouldn't have any personality at all!"

http://mikepounders.weebly.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/pages/Mike-...61450667252958
    http://centralarkansaswoodcarvers.blogspot.com/

Comment

Originally posted by mpounders View Post