Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tomorrow is the Big Day

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the art of wood burning and wanted to come say hi. I registered a few days back and have learned alot in my research. I will be purchasing the Detail Master Saber tomorrow. I chose this model because of Wood Craft being a local store I can go to and pick it up. I will be picking up a pen with replaceable tips... but even with all my research I am still stumped. I gather I need to get some sort of a bent spear shader, a writing tip and an Awl. But I will be darned if I cant figure out the actual model number for these in the Detail Master line. I was wondering if anyone can chime in and help a newbie pick her tips. I am excited to get burning! And am glad I found a great community of people to be friends with. I will keep everyone up to date on how my first burn goes. Thanks again for all your help.

Jules

Re: Tomorrow is the Big Day

It sounds like you have done your research Jules, so have fun shopping tomorrow. Like all tools, you will never have enough.

Tom
    If I took the time to fix all my mistakes, I wouldn,t have time to make new ones.

www.spokanecarvers.com

Comment

Hi Jules, welcome to the forum. I can't help you on model numbers for tips, but I can tell you that a writing tip, a shader and a skew chisel tip are about all you need to begin. That is what all the experts say. There are many specialty tips that you might find useful after you get into woodburning more.

Comment

Well, I am back from my shopping trip! I am now the proud owner of a Saber IV burner! I am armed with 3 tips and I handle. I think this will give me a good start. Wish me luck! I will start a new post with pictures for everyone to see and give critique. Thanks for the advice on what to start with.

Comment

That's great Jules, look forward to seeing some of your projects soon.
          Mark N. Akers
          My Etsy Store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/KarolinaKarver

Comment