Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First relief carving (or any carving for that matter)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First relief carving (or any carving for that matter)

Hello fellow carvers. Not sure I am one yet....I originally posted this in the beginners forum, but thought I might get more pointed feedback from the relief carvers specifically. I've been doing flat work in wood for more than 20 years, and have been turning on a lathe for about 2 years now. I wanted to learn to carve, mainly to embellish pieces of furniture and turnings. I have several hand carving tools and a micromotor. Dappled with the micromotor a bit, but found it too dusty. So I decided to try hand tool only (mostly) carving. Bellow is my very first carving. It's out of a Chris Pye book. It's about 16" long and 5" wide. Cut in Mahogany.

I'm looking for truly constructive critiques. Don't hold back. What do you see that I could do better? Are there any tell-tale signs that I'm using a bad technique? Just any advise that would make my next one better. And there will be a second one. I plan to add the carvings to the sides of a Mahogany hamper I am making. I just started on the second one and was hoping for some real feedback.

IMG_1922[1].JPG
    Last edited by gittyup; 07-15-2020, 06:42 AM.

I'm thinking much of it should be thinner, especially the leaves. But then it will be very fragile to remove from the carving board. Chris Pye recommended 5/8" material. Mine is closer to 9/16", with the thinnest places being about 5/16 or so. Should I take the leaves down to 3/16" or an 1/8"? What to others think?

And yeah, I know the radials in the left fin are completely wrong
    Last edited by gittyup; 07-15-2020, 06:44 AM.

Comment