Anyone carve a Stingray?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone carve a Stingray?

I have a sudden need to turn a slab into a stingray...perhaps like the picture. Is this a good idea for one with limited experience? What about that tail.....would you stick that on later?

I have a huge catulpa tree slab - not sure how that will carve with the turboplane though. Also have walnut, cherry, and maple slabs....whats best? I like cherry (especially after that dang willow).

The answer will depend on where and how it will be displayed. Some of the woods mentioned are special because of the grain figure, but if you plan to paint or stain the carving the grain is less important. It looks like the grain direction should run from head to tail, so the tail might be attached as a separate piece to avoid a lot of waste wood. Keep us involved as you proceed.

I have no experience with a turboplane for carving, but for some woods like maple, going in the wrong direction will splinter the surface.
    Last edited by pallin; 11-01-2017, 03:40 PM. Reason: added comment

Comment

Originally posted by pallin View Post
      The answer will depend on where and how it will be displayed. Some of the woods mentioned are special because of the grain figure, but if you plan to paint or stain the carving the grain is less important. It looks like the grain direction should run from head to tail, so the tail might be attached as a separate piece to avoid a lot of waste wood. Keep us involved as you proceed.

I have no experience with a turboplane for carving, but for some woods like maple, going in the wrong direction will splinter the surface.
      Oh good...I get the "where you going to put that thing" routine before I even start! Stole the office projector and put it on an old big maple crotch slab project that was abandoned. I want to go big, but I had this turtle incident. It is soft maple, which for some reason is not soft, but know I can work it.