X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do I fix the following things?

Hi,

A bit of background before I get into it:
    I'm a newbie to the wood carving world, and Im not sure I've got to the tools I need to create beautiful patterns on the top of boxes.
    So, in the meantime and to get familiar with carving, I've bought a flexcut relief carving kit, and give it a go.

I've watched many videos on beginners technique and people demonstrating carving, I've also read a few forums and sites, and had a crack at a first attempt.

Whilst I have many things I'm struggling with, one in particular is the tool to carve small square recesses?
    I've used a tiny tiny little curved gouge but all that happens is the sides go to a point where it's all flaky and split.
    What or how would I get a clean square recess?
    I've attached images to show my first attempt.

Thanks in advance for any advice or tips and tricks.

You need to use a carving knife to cut straight down into the wood around your perimeter then clean it out. The cut straight down is called a stop cut, be sure to keep all stop cuts the same depth or you will see the stop cut line at the bottom if you go to far, takes a bit of practice. One method is to put a bit of tape on your knife blade to indicate when to stop. I hope this makes sense to you... I am not good at explaining things.
    ~ Dwight
    "Hello, I am the Friggin' Happiness Fairy and I just sprinkled happy dust on you, so smile damit' this crap is expensive."

Comment

A small 90° V tool might help on this. If you can't find a 90°, you could always use a 70° V tool to clean up the corners by just "cleaning" one side, then rotating the tool a little bit and cleaning the adjacent side...

Claude
      My FaceBook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ClaudesWoodCarving/

My Pinterest Page: https://www.pinterest.com/cfreaner/

My ETSY Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ClaudesWoodcarving

Comment

Hi Dwight,