Cedar vs Basswood

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cedar vs Basswood

I'm just starting out and purchased some basswood. Its really easy to carve with a pocket knife. My question is how much harder would cedar be to carve using the knife? I was going to see if I can get some scrapes from homedepot to put my blade to it and try it out but I thought I would ask and see what kind of information I can get from anyone that is working with Cedar.

Welcome. This is a really good shop to stop in.

I've been carving western red cedar in the Pacific Northwest for a long time.
    Take a ruler and do ring counts. Even cedar fence posts are sometimes really good wood. 5/4 cedar deck boards.
    Can you find a cedar mill and score some shake blocks? All 24" tall, you can split out any size pieces that you want.

a) less that 15 rings/inch is fence board crap, far too soft even with carving-sharp tools.
    b) 15-30 rings/inch is really nice
    c)30+ gets kind of boney but is still good.
    = =
    Don't expect WRC to hold any fine detail. Look at a pile of west coast carvings to get ideas.
    3D stuff, bowls and other dishes, story & totem poles, relief carvings, form-line carvings.

Small and large pieces will POP off your carvings when you least expect it. No prying, just slicing cuts.
    Keep you floor clean so that you can find them and glue them back in place.

Most conifers (spruce, pine, fir, Dougfir, juniper and Easern Red Cedar) work about as much in the same ways.
    Brian T

Comment

I have carved several pieces of Wood spirits in found wood Cedar, they make a very good carving and finishes very good, but naturally Basswood is going to be allot easier, but doesn't have the character of Cedar logs.

Comment