Strop Compound.. Green, Gold, White, Pak etc etc or does it really matter

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Strop Compound.. Green, Gold, White, Pak etc etc or does it really matter

Just wondering what most of you folks use of strop compound .. Or does anything go ??

Also how much do you put on the leather ?

tnx
    Willy
    Last edited by willywog; 05-07-2019, 07:37 AM.

I've used several and not found there to be any noticeable difference.

Comment

They are all very fine abrasives. As long as you can hold the bevel angle the same each time, any one of them will do.
      I try to coat the strop surface fairly evenly. Most of the time, I do not succeed but I find it does not matter.
      Just like coloring with big Crayola crayons.

The strop can be just about anything: leather, office file folder, file card, cereal box card, I even use a tennis ball.

I have been using Chromium Oxide for many years. It is naturally a green color.
      Most of the time, it has some white Aluminum oxide added to it.
      I would not know if that's much of a helper or not.
      Brian T

Comment

I like the flexcut gold, I put it in my pocket for a whole before rubbing it on the strop. I have been using mdf as a strop, I is easy to cut grooves into to deal with gouges and v tools.
        Herb

Comment

I agree with the above info.
          I get mine from Flexcut Gold & Stropbros.com, they offer four different grits.
          . . .JoeB

Comment

I like the Flexcut gold and have learned with it. I use a file folder with a tad of oil and I'm happy...super sharp edges.
            Bill
            Living among knives and fire.

http://www.westernwoodartist.com

Comment

There are a number of good strop compounds My choice is Tormex PA70. It is a white tube paste compound that spreads easily on the strop and works well.
              Randy

WE LIVE IN THE LAND OF THE FREE BECAUSE OF THE BRAVE!

Comment