It is too hard to whittle

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• It is too hard to whittle

Hello, I am new to whittling. I just got some pieces to try and whittle a little fox. But when I saw the video of someone doing it, it was much easier. When I try to whittle, I can't take away as much material and it is significantly harder to make a stop cut. So I can't cut as easier in general. I couldn't figure out what the problem was, anyone have any ideas? The wood I'm whittling with is lindenwood.
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

Do not believe all you see in a video. Whittling is often slow and tedious.

Comment

Originally posted by pallin View Post
      Do not believe all you see in a video. Whittling is often slow and tedious.
      I am totally okay with it being slow and tedious. But I just wondered if I was cutting from a wrong angle or is it because of the direction of wood grain?

Comment

DO,

Welcome to the forum!

You refer to the wood as linden wood usually called basswood or lime wood so find my self wondering about the providence of the wood? Also the growth rings on the blocks in the background appear to be about a 1/2”wide not typical of northern basswood. I have been told southern basswood is a different beast so again wondering?

Looks like maybe what you have in your hand is a piece of heartwood which is not the same as the sapwood from the same tree. Heartwood is generally denser and harder then sapwood.

Second your knife may not be as sharp as the one in the video.

Third your knife may not be suitable for carving wood.

Fourth the carver in the video maybe doing a slight slicing motion that you aren’t replicating.

I guess what I’m saying is there can be lots of reasons so a little more information would help.

Comment