Cat pattern for beginner?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Cat pattern for beginner?

I'm looking for a pattern of a cat, suitable for a beginner to carve. I found the cat pattern at Porch Patterns ( CAT ) and am prepared to attempt it, but I'm still pretty new at this carving thing (this will be my first figure), and I'd really prefer something that has a bit more in the way of instruction.

Any hints?

Re: Cat pattern for beginner?

Have a look here you might find something suitable.........

Cats - Clipart ETC

Wayne
    If you're looking for me, you'll find me in a pile of wood chips somewhere...

Comment

Thanks, Soggy, for the link.

Comment

You're probably looking for something in the round but if you want an easy step by step cat project with plenty of photos and directions try this project from the WCI article archives. It's in PDF format.

Wood Carving Illustrated - How-To Magazine for Carvers

Comment

Thanks, Eddy. I am looking for in the round, but that refrigerator magnet is very cool. I've saved it for future reference.

Comment

There was an article in a WCI issue a number of years ago on how to carve a cat, in the round. I know because i carved it for my daughter who is nuts about cats. It was not particularly difficult as I was a beginner at the time and it still came out looking somewhat like a cat. If you cant find it let me know. Jared

Comment

Sometimes you can take a pattern of an animal with a similiar shape and modify it to your own purposes without too much difficulty. Thomp just got through posting a pattern for a raccoon which wouldn't be all that difficult to change into a cat.

Comment

Farmer: thanks. I did a bit more searching and came across this posting:
                http://www.woodcarvingillustrated.co...ure-cats-5718/

Eddy: I'll see if I can find that raccoon pattern. Thanks.

Comment

my new racoon pattern... - Page 2 - Woodcarving Illustrated Message Board

Comment