Pattern sizing question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pattern sizing question

I am fairly new to both woodcarving and scrollsawing. I see many times someone will say \"increase or decrease the pattern size on copy machine\". I have a Canon copy/scan machine and it doesn\'t allow me to set a % size up or down. It has a couple of factory settings but not what I might necessarily need. Can anybody give me some advice on how to go about resizing a pattern? Do I need to do from within a program on my computer? Is there a suggested pattern sizing program that you all recommend? I\'d sure love to hear how you all do it. I have a ton of basswood blocks that I acquired but they are never quite the right size for the project. Usually they are just a bit smaller so I thought if I could scale down the patterns I might be able to use the wood. Thanks for your help,,

Ray

Re: Pattern sizing question

Hi, Ray - I moved your post to a different forum where you are more likely to get some answers.

One method is to take your pattern to local Kinkos or other copy service and get them to do it. You could also go to the local library and use one of the copiers there.

It can also be done on your computer if your home printer also has a scanning function. Many home printers will change the size of something. I have an EPSON WorkForce 520 that will. You can also use several different computer applications to change the size of an image. On a Mac, you can use Preview which is built-in, or Adobe Illustrator ($$), or Adobe Photoshop ($$$), or Adobe Photoshop Elements ($). On the PC, there are numerous photo editing applications that can be used, but you\'ll have to wait for someone else to tell you about them, as I use a Mac.

Claude
    My FaceBook Page: https://www.facebook.com/ClaudesWoodCarving/

My Pinterest Page: https://www.pinterest.com/cfreaner/

My ETSY Shop: https://www.etsy.com/shop/ClaudesWoodcarving

Comment