Professional quality tool brands?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Professional quality tool brands?

Hi, all. New to the forum. I’m a young guy, and for a few years, I’ve been working for artisans, trying to learn all I can about as many things as I can. I’ve been working as an apprentice frame maker and gilder for about two years now. Everything is one off, using traditional methods. Carving is becoming my favorite part of the job, and I’ve worked up to the point where I’m doing some sort of carving almost every day. I also take on any other carving job that comes my. At this point, I can’t see myself in a profession that doesn’t include wood carving in some way.

Anyway, that’s my situation. My parents bought me a set of 8 Hirsh tools to get me started, and I absolutely love them. Am I correct that Hirsch and Two Cherries are the same? I’ve also bought a couple Pfeil Swiss Made tools over the last year. My boss has an extensive collection of Pfeil tools (he only buys Pfeil), and I’ve been using his tools a lot, when I don’t have the right gouge in my own collection. I’m looking to start expanding my own set, and I’d like to stick with professional quality tools that can stand up to frequent use, and ones that will hopefully last me my career. That said, I don’t make much money, so I’d like to get the best bang for the buck that I can. I know a lot of people consider Pfeil the gold standard, including my boss, while other people are loyal to other brands. I like Hirsch and Pfeil tools, and I don’t really detect any true differences in quality, just differences in the way they feel and behave. I find that my Hirsch gouges are somewhat more substantial in size and weight than my boss’s comparable Pfeil gouges, and I often like the extra weight. Is this generally true across the board between the two brands?