Micro fractures

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Micro fractures

I'm a life long woodworker and retired high school shop teacher. I've never been great at carving nor sharpening. I've recently started carving on a semi serious level and have just finished about 150 of the "Larry Green designed Happy Christmas Trees" carvings. I've been really frustrated with my sharpening! I feel like I can put a great edge on a kitchen knife but when I sharpen my carving knives, I always end up with small chips/micro fractures on the cutting edges after a few minutes of carving.

I use some re-purposed kitchen knives for my rough out knives (Kevin Coates style) and then I have Pheil and OCC detail knives (the OCC just arrived in my mail box yesterday so I have not sharpened it yet). I've found that the kitchen knives and Pheil seem to be the worse as opposed to the rather soft stainless steel of an old Rapala fillet knife.

My sharpening is done on a Cerax 1000 grit stone followed by a quick pass on a leather belt on a 1" x 30" strip sander. While carving, I use a leather strop. I wonder if I'm getting too sharp an angle and the cutting edge is then breaking off?

Any suggestions?
    You do not have permission to view this gallery.
    This gallery has 1 photos.

Without looking at your knives, I'd guess your bevel is wrong. Can I assume you are stropping any wire edge off?

I personally am in favor of a convex edge on my carving knives- supposedly the strongest edge you can put on a knife.. Lift the back edge of your knife slightly higher for the last pass on your stone, and roll the knife back down to the bevel. Do this on both sides, and push the knife down the stone like you were trying to slice a label off it.

Proceed to your strop and see if it helps.

I hope that was clear...

Buffalo Bif
    www.bflobif.com

Comment