X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Frede
    • Feb 2022

Dropped sub-mini tool on blade

A friend gave me sets of Crown and Ramelson carving tools so I decided to try my 1st carving. Unfor I dropped the smallest Ramelson gouge bending one edge of the tip and I'm unable to fix it.

I've been building furniture for 25 yrs....hand cut dovetails etc. I have a drawer full of strops, whetstones, diamonds and papers used for my chisels/plane plates. I can sharpen any chisel/plate shave sharp but failed getting the gouge fixed. I even ordered a whetstone for gouges but the slots are wrong. If I'd dropped a chisel, I'd start a new edge at 180 grit and go up which is what I tried with the gouge....no luck

I absolutely LOVE carving and plan to continue doing it but it seems sharpening carving is quite different than what I'm used to with flat tools. Any tips on fixing the small gouge? Thanks!
  • DiLeon
    Senior Member Hawaii
    • Jun 2009

First, there are a lot of ways to sharpen gouges, I suggest you look into several methods. One tip is bent which means structure failure in the bent area?...can you bend it back with a weakened area is questionable? I have had gouges fall onto the floor which is cement...., they never bent but the edge rolled a little or chipped. I am wondering if it is a bad tool with a failure in the metal depending on how much of the tips is bent? Because I can not see the damage....but if it is just a micro bent edge then it sounds like you may have to file off the whole top of the chisel and then proceed to sharpen the gouge from the start. Back to the desired shape. This takes time and patience and a learning curve. There are lots of Youtube videos on how to sharpen gouges and next how to strop gouges properly. Watch them all.